Tags

, , , ,

I haven’t tried a french braid in my hair since I was around 9 years old. That’s because I didn’t know how, and trying to figure it out on my own with young hands and thick, slippery, tangly hair was like trying to hold a handful of oil without it dripping through your fingers. Epic fail. I gave up and never tried it again… That is, until 2 days ago. I saw a random link for interesting hairstyles and I clicked it. I saw some gorgeous braids (and I’ve always wanted to know how to do them, I just somehow never learned), and oh, joy! There were videos showing how to do it! When I saw them, I was shocked at how easy it was. Each video was 4 minutes or less (of course, this was an experienced braider doing it..). Needless to say, I had to try it. Now, I’m still not the most proficient braid-person out there, but it really wasn’t as hard as I had always imagined it to be, and in these 2 days I have now done both a french braid and a dutch braid. I had always thought that people who knew how to do dutch braids must be utter geniuses with superbly amazing and dextrous hands and that it must be terribly complicated to get the braid to sit on top instead of folding under, as in a french braid, which was hard enough, but, my, oh my! So simple! So elegant! Slightly messy when I do it, but hey, I’ve only had 2 tries, so I’m not complaining! The moral of this story is this: Don’t waste your life not doing something you’ve always wanted to do, for fear that you can’t do it. Just google a tutorial, sign up for a class, read a book, just step out in some way, shape, or form and try it! It’s probably not as hard as you thought! And even if it’s one of those few things that turns out to actually be as hard as it looks, don’t give up. Practice makes perfect. Or at the least, it makes interesting. 😉

~M

