So my boys had been begging me to make cupcakes for about 2 days and I finally gave in (it was now the first day of Spring, which they had been looking forward to all month). I was looking for a recipe that looked good, and I came across this recipe for vanilla cupcakes and I thought, “I’ll try that one!” and I got started.

Well, partway through, I realized that I was out of vanilla extract! “No big deal,” I thought. “I’ll just use lemon.” Nice and bright and springy anyway for the first day of Spring. Can’t go wrong. And then I realized I also didn’t have any Greek yogurt. Uh, oh. So I poke around in my refrigerator to see what I’ve got, and lo and behold, there’s a partially used can of “extra thick” coconut cream, and I figure I could try that, just to see what would happen, because, after all, I couldn’t turn back now; half of my ingredients were measured and mixed!

I get my batter finished with it’s modifications, preheat my teeny little toaster oven, grease my miniature muffin pan with butter, fill the 12 tiny cups with the cupcake batter, and hope for the best.

The batter tasted fantastic (the child in me can never resist licking the spatula, and my boys begged me to let them lick the beaters from the mixer too. It was awesome.), but I wasn’t sure how the final baked product would be as far as texture and rise.

Let me tell you what: These were the most fabulous, perfect, fantastic, wonderful, glorious little mini cupcakes I’ve ever had! Oh my! 😀 We ate the whole little mini tray before I could even get the second pan in the oven (and then I had to institute a temporary “no touch” rule just so I could get some frosting made for them; if I hadn’t they would’ve all been gone before I could even get it mixed, much less decorated!).

Pay no attention to the poor quality of my photo. Cell phones at 11PM just don’t do these beauties justice…

LemonCupcakes

Not the best piping job either, in places, but my boys were bugging me (“can I have one now? Can I eat it yet? When are you going to be finished?”) so I had to get ’em done quick! 😉

Now that I’ve told you the back story and how fabulous they turned out, I shall share the recipe with you so you can see just how awesome they are for yourself!

By the way, remember how I said I greased my pan with butter? Well, I definitely recommend doing that instead of using those canned sprays. It gave the edges of the cupcake this perfect little hint of crisp that was absolutely delicious! Just leave a chunk of butter on the counter until it’s soft, wad up a paper towel like a ball, swipe it across your softened butter blob, and swirl in the cupcake pan (make sure it’s a thin coat, just enough to see a film of greasiness, not an opaque swath of butter streaks!.. you don’t want your cupcakes swimming in butter!). They pop out just fine with a little twist and you don’t have to worry about buying those little paper cups (unless you just prefer the cups: it does eliminate the need to wash your pan when you’re done, though you miss out on the awesome little butter edges).

So here goes!

Ingredients:

1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup butter (1 stick) at room temperature
2 large eggs (also room temp)
2 teaspoons lemon flavoring or extract (Simply Organic is what I used)
1 and 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup Extra Thick coconut cream (I get mine from Trader Joe’s
2/3 cup whole milk

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease cupcake pan/muffin tin/whatever you want to call it with butter (or you can line with paper/silicone liners if you prefer). Set aside.
In medium size bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Whisk the dry ingredients together to incorporate. Set aside.
In mixing bowl add the room temperature butter. Beat on medium speed for about 1 minute to loosen up the butter, add in the sugar and beat on medium speed for about 2-3 minutes to cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
Add in the lemon flavoring and add in the eggs one at a time, mixing in between.
Mix in the coconut cream. Remove the bowl from the stand mixer.
Slowly add in 1/3 of the dry ingredients, then 1/2 of the milk. Mix with a rubber spatula gently, just until most of the flour is incorporated, not fully mixed. Continue to add 1/3 dry, 1/2 milk, then the last 1/3 dry so that all the milk and dry ingredients are together. Gently stir the batter to incorporate all the dry ingredients, it’s ok if there’s some lumps in the batter. Don’t overmix.
Scoop the batter into the cupcake pan filling the cups about 2/3 full.
Bake for 15-16 minutes until fully cooked (or if you’re using a dinky little toaster oven with mini cupcakes like me, you can bake them for 18 minutes. My oven doesn’t bake as well as it should and everything takes longer!), tops will be golden and a toothpick inserted into the center will come out clean.
Allow to cool in the tin for 2-3 minutes and then carefully remove cupcakes to continue cooling on a wire rack before frosting them with your choice of frosting (I made lemon, because I just like to have lemon on lemon–ultimate lemon!! Cream cheese frosting would be good too. Or just some heavy whipped cream. You decide.)– or you can eat them warm like we did 😉 .

This recipe, as per the original, should make about 16 cupcakes, but if you’re using mini tins like me, you can get 48 out of it if you’re careful. I got 47, but a few were filled a smidge much, so I’m sure I could’ve gotten that last one if I had divided better lol.

Enjoy!! These little beauties are a taste of lemon heaven. And did I mention how perfectly fluffy and just the right amount of moistness they were? 😉

~The Smore

